Texas

When you are charged with a crime that can haunt you for the rest of your life, your entire outlook can change. A conviction on Texas sex charges can definitely change the direction of your future as you may be spending time in prison, dealing with the loss of friends and family support, paying fines, and living with the fact that you’ll be required to register with the state for the remainder of your years. You’re likely under considerable stress, and given the circumstances, that’s completely understandable.

Charged with a Sex Crime? Please call (800)940-5488.
call_now

The legal penalties for a sex crime conviction are only the beginning in a long list of consequences you face when charged with a Texas sex crime. A local criminal defense attorney can assist you in minimizing the impact of these charges and potentially assist you in avoiding the most serious of penalties.

Texas Sex Offense Laws and Penalties

Most sex offenses under Texas law are considered felonies. This means they carry the potential for multiple years in a state penal institution. The exact penalty you face depends on the exact charge you face as well as your criminal history and other considerations. To know exactly what you are up against, a consultation with a lawyer is essential.

 

Texas Sexual Assault Laws

 Sexual assault is also referred to as rape. If is the crime of having nonconsensual sex, either with a stranger or someone you know. Though we often think of this as being forceful and violent, that isn’t always the case. You can also be charged with sexual assault if you have sexual relations with someone who is unable to consent, whether because of consciousness, age, or mental capacity.

This offense is classified as a 2nd degree felony and carries a potential sentence of 2 to 20 years in prison.

Texas Aggravated Sexual Assault Laws

 Aggravated sexual assault is a charge that applies in a variety of circumstances and is considered a more serious offense that sexual assault alone. It can apply when the alleged incident is particularly violent, if there is a weapon, if the victim is threatened with death or if it is perpetuated against someone who is particularly young or elderly.

Aggravated sexual assault is classified as a 1st degree felony and carries anywhere from 5 to 99 years in prison.

Texas Child Molestation Laws

There are many different acts that could be considered child molestation or indecency with a child in Texas. The exact circumstances of your case are what determine the charge you ultimately face and the potential sentence that charge carries. In most cases, child molestation is considered a felony offense and can carry up to 20 years in prison.

Texas Prostitution Charge – Laws & Penalties

 Prostitution is the act of obtaining sexual gratification from another in exchange for money or something of value. This is classified as a state jail felony and carries up to 2 years in a state jail.

Texas Sexting Laws

 Currently, you can be charged with numerous different offenses when you are accused of “sexting”. Criminal charges are most often levied in cases like this where a minor is involved. Even if you have traded photos with an object of your affection–if they are a minor, you could be accused of child pornography.

Texas sex offenses are no minor speed-bump in life. They tend to be more like a brick wall. We can put you in touch with a local defense lawyer that may be able to help you fight these charges. Whether you made a mistake you now regret or if you are completely innocent of the charges against you– contact us today.