Oregon

In the state of Oregon, when you are charged with a sex offense, you face serious life-changing penalties. If you are accused of a sex crime, you not only face the disdain of the courts, but you could also face alienation from friends and family. Now more than ever, you need a committed advocate on your side.

Charged with a Sex Crime? Please call (800)940-5488.
call_now

Oregon Sex Crimes

While this page provides an overview of some of the more commonly charged sex offenses, consulting with a local attorney is the best way to know for certain what you are up against and what can be done to minimize the damage that such charges can cause.

Rape in the Third Degree

Third degree rape is defined as having sexual intercourse with someone under the age of 16. This crime is considered a Class C Felony and carries up to 5 years in prison and $125,000 in fines.

Rape in the Second Degree

If you have sexual intercourse with someone under the age of 14, you could face charges of second degree rape. This offense is classified as a Class B felony and carries up to 10 years in prison and $250,000 in fines.

Rape in the First Degree

First degree rape is the most serious of rape offenses and applies when you have sexual intercourse with someone and one of the following circumstances are present:

  1. Force is used,
  2. The victim is under 12 years of age,
  3. The victim is under the age of 16 and your sibling, child, or step-child, or
  4. If the victim is incapable of consent by reason of a mental defect, mental incapacitation or physical helplessness.

This crime is considered a Class A Felony and carries up to 20 years in prison and $375,000 in fines.

Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the Second Degree

Unlawful sexual penetration in the 2nd degree is defined as penetrating the vagina, anus, or penis of another with any object other than a penis or mouth where the victim is under 14 years of age. This is classified as a Class B Felony and carries up to 10 years in prison and $250,000 in fines.

Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the First Degree

1st degree unlawful sexual penetration is defined as penetrating the vagina, anus or penis of another with any object other than a penis or mouth where any of the following circumstances are present:

  1. The victim is forced,
  2. The victim is under the age of 12, or
  3. The victim is unable to consent because of a mental defect, mental incapacitation or physical helplessness.

This offense is considered a Class A Felony and carries up to 20 years in prison and $375,000 in fines.

Other Oregon sex offenses include things like:

  • Sexual misconduct
  • Online sexual corruption of a child
  • Sexual abuse
  • Public indecency
  • Private indecency
  • And more…

Any one of these charges has the potential to dramatically change your life. If you are accused of a sex offense, you need someone on your side, tirelessly advocating for your best interests. Let us put you in touch with a local criminal defense attorney today.