Arizona

There are many different sex crimes under Arizona state laws. For this reason, understanding the charges against you can be difficult. When you are accused of violating these laws, the consequences reach far beyond the legal penalties. Sure, you could go to prison and have to pay fines, but you’ll also be forced to deal with the significant and potentially disastrous effects on your personal and professional life.

Charged with a Sex Crime? Please call (800)940-5488.
call_now

As an Arizona sex offender you will be required to jump through hoops whenever you try to move or find a job. Avoiding the worst of these repercussions happens in the beginning stages of the criminal court process—by working with your defense lawyer.

Arizona Sex Offenses – Laws and Penalties

Here are just a few of the more commonly seen Arizona sex crimes:

Indecent Exposure

This offense is defined as exposing your genitals, anus, or breasts (except in the case of breastfeeding) to another person where that other person could be offended or alarmed by the act. If the victim of your exposure is 15 or older, it is a Class 1 Misdemeanor offense punishable by 6 months in jail. However, if the victim is less than 15 years old, the charge is a Class 6 Felony, carrying up to 18 months in prison with a presumptive sentence of 1 year.

Like most criminal offenses, if you have prior similar convictions on your record, your sentence can be significantly increased.

Ref ARS 13-1402

Public Sexual Indecency

This crime is defined as engaging in one of the following acts when another is present and that person could be offended or alarmed by the act:

  1. An act of sexual contact,
  2. An act of sexual or oral intercourse, or
  3. An act of bestiality.

Keep in mind, the act doesn’t have to be committed upon the “victim”, merely done in their presence. This is typically a Class 1 Misdemeanor, carrying up to one year in jail. However, if the victim is a minor, the offense is elevated to a Class 5 Felony and carries up to 2 years in prison with a presumptive 18 month sentence.

Ref: ARS 13-1403

Sexual Abuse

Sexual abuse is a serious felony offense defined as having sexual contact with a person who is 15 years or older without their consent, or having such contact with a person under the age of 15 when that contact involves the female breast.

If the victim is 15 or over, it is classified as a Class 5 Felony and carries a potential 2 years in prison with a presumptive sentence of 18 months. But if the victim is under the age of 15, the offense is classified as a Class 3 Felony and carries a potential 7 years in prison with a presumptive sentence of 3 ½ years.

Ref: ARS 13-1404

Sexual Assault

Under the laws of Arizona, sexual assault is the offense that’s commonly referred to as rape. It is defined as having sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with another person without their consent. In general, it is classified as a Class 2 Felony and is punishable by up to 14 years in prison with a presumptive 7 year prison sentence for a first offense.

If you have prior similar convictions, you will face even harsher penalties. For a second offense, the maximum penalty is 21 years with a presumptive sentence of 10 ½ years. If you already have two or more similar convictions, you will face up to 28 years and a presumptive sentence of 15 ¾ years.

A sentence for sexual assault cannot be suspended. This means you cannot serve probation for sexual assault and in most cases you will not be pardoned or paroled.

Ref: ARS 13-1406